SHRM awards staff and students with year-end honors

This spring, the Penn State Student Chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM), handed out their annual awards recognizing local leaders in the HR community.

Jessica Steele, LER’s Student Services Coordinator, was named the recipient of the Carolyn Fisher Bacon “Make a Difference” Award for her hard work in professional development and providing students with internship opportunites and assistance in securing full-time positions.

The Carolyn Fisher Bacon Award is named after the Penn State SHRM student chapter founder who wanted to give students exposure to the field of HR in ways that complement the classroom experience.

Each year, this award recognizes a professional who embodied Carolyn's spirit of involvement in the development of members of the PSU student chapter.

Three students were also honored at the annual event.  Jocelin Linares was awarded the James M. Elliott Scholarship.  Tom Agosta was the named the “Most Involved SHRM Member” and Megan Flaherty was named the “Most Involved SLER Member.”